Knowledge Base

Articles list

Managing Disks

Creating Volumes

To create an additional disk (volume) and attach it to a server:

  1. Open a project and click the Volumes tab.
  2. Click Create volume.
  3. In the new window, set the following parameters:
    • Location
    • Name
    • Source
    • Volume type
    • Size
  4. Click Create.

The new disk will appear at the top of the list.

Managing Volumes

Three tabs are available in the expanded volume block:

  • Size. Change the amount of disk space available with resources available (allocated)
  • Control. Detach, attach, or delete the disk. Transfer volumes between projects
  • Snapshots. Scheduled snapshots and an archive of previously made copies

The drop down menu offers the same disk actions:

  • rename volume
  • detach/attach volume
  • expand volume size
  • make snapshot
  • transfer to other project
  • delete volume

Changing Disk Space

Increasing Disk Space

Please note: To avoid losing any data, we recommend creating a snapshot of your disk under the Snapshots tab before modifying partitions or the file system.

To increase disk space:

  1. Increase the quota for the desired volume type in the project control panel.
  2. Open the project and disable the virtual machine whose disk you wish to modify.
  3. Open the Volumes tab and expand the block of the appropriate volume.
  4. Enter a new value in the Volume size field under the Size tab.
  5. Click Save.
  6. Enable the virtual machine.

If the operating system was installed from a pre-configured image in the control panel, no additional steps are required. 

If the volume does not automatically reflect these changes, it will have to be done manually.

To manually extent disk space in Linux:

  1. Print out a list of all file system partitions using the command:

    fdisk --list

    If the partition containing the last sector cannot be increased (if it is a swap partition, for example), then you may create a new partition or transfer data to a new volume.

  2. Run the following command, replacing X with the number of the last file system partition:

    fdisk /dev/vdX
  3. Change the display units to sectors (if cylinders is selected):

    u
  4. Pull up partition information and take note of the sector where the partition begins:

    p 
  5. Delete the partition label:

    d
  6. Create a new primary partition:

    n p 1
  7. Fdisk will ask for the starting sector of the partition.
  8. Enter the value from above.
  9. Fdisk will ask for the final sector.
  10. Enter the maximum possible value.

  11. Write your changes to the volume with the command:

    w
  12. Fdisk will complete the operation.
  13. After rebooting, expand the file system to the extended partition:

    resize2fs /dev/vdX
  14. Check the partition size:

    df -h

In Windows, after adding additional disk space, open Disk Management. Right click the volume you wish to extend, and click Extend Volume.

image

Decreasing Disk Space

To shrink a volume, we recommend creating a new disk with the appropriate amount of disk space and transferring your data.

Transferring Volumes between Projects

Volumes can be transferred between different projects in one region in two steps:

  1. Prepare the volume for transfer.
  2. Receive the volume in the new project.

To prepare a volume for transfer:

  1. In the expanded volume block, open the Control tab.
  2. Detach the volume from its current virtual machine by clicking Detach.
  3. In the Transfer volume to anothe project section, click Transfer volume.

The Transfer volume to another project section will contain the Volume ID and Key until the transfer is completed.

To receive a volume in a new project:

  1. Ensure you have enough diskspace available in the VPC control panel.
  2. Open the project you wish to transfer your volume to and open the Volume tab.
  3. From the drop down menu, click Transfer volume from another project.
  4. If the Volume ID and Key fields do not fill in automatically, those volumes can be taken from the Control block of the volume to be transferred.
  5. Click Transfer.

Connecting Volumes from the Server Block

Additional volumes can be added from the server block:

  1. Open a project and expand the block of the desired server.
  2. Open the Volumes tab.
  3. Choose the volume from the dropdown menu in the bottom-left corner.
  4. Click Attach volume.

Once the volume is attached, it will appear in the volume list.

To detach a volume, click Detach to the right of the volume name.

Deleting Volumes

Prior to deleting a volume, it must first be detached from a virtual server. There are two ways to do this:

  1. under Volumes in the project menu
  2. under the Volumes tab in the virtual server menu

Afterwards, volumes can be deleted on the project page under Volumes:

  1. Choose Delete volume from the volume drop down menu.
  2. Click Delete under the Control tab in the expanded block.

Automatically Deleting Volumes

When deleting a virtual server, you can choose to delete volumes from the server, which will create a task to delete all of the volumes attached to the machine.