Deleting Cloud Servers
Please note that deleted cloud servers cannot be restored.
Deleting a Server in the Control Panel
Follow these steps to delete a cloud server in the Control panel:
- Go to the Servers section in the project.
In the (⋮) menu of the desired server, click Delete server.
Please note that you can also delete the server from the (⋮) server menu in the server page.
If you want to delete all network volumes of this server, check the Delete volumes of this server box.
Please note that when deleting a server with a local boot volume, the local volume and its contents are deleted anyway. You can delete the network volumes later according to the instructions.
Enter the server name to confirm and click Delete.
The cloud server will be deleted.
Deleting a Server through CLI
Learn more about getting started with the OpenStack CLI.
To open the list of all servers:
openstack server list
To delete the selected server:
openstack server delete <Server>
Both the server name and its ID can be used in the
<Server> parameter. If there are several servers with the same name, then you can use the server’s ID.
Please note that when deleting a server, the local volume and its contents are deleted anyway. You can delete network volumes later according to the Deleting volumes instructions.
If network ports are connected to the server, then when deleting the server through console clients, the ports are not deleted, but they are no longer connected to the server.