Deleting Cloud Servers
Please note that deleted cloud servers cannot be restored.
Deleting a Server in the Control Panel
Follow these steps to delete a cloud server:
- Go to the Servers section in the project and select the server you want to delete from the list.
- Click Delete server in the (⋮) context menu.
- If you want to delete all network volumes of this server, check the Delete volumes of this server box. You can delete all network volumes or some of them later according to the instructions. Please note that when deleting a server with a local boot volume, the local volume and its contents are deleted anyway.
- Enter the server name to confirm.
- Click Delete.
The cloud server will be deleted.
Deleting a Server through CLI
Learn more about getting started with the OpenStack CLI.
To open the list of all servers:
openstack server list
To delete the selected server:
openstack server delete <Server>
Both the server name and its ID can be used in the
<Server> parameter. If there are several servers with the same name, then you can use the server’s ID.
Please note that when deleting a server with a local boot volume, the local volume and its contents are deleted anyway.You can delete network volumes later according to the Deleting volumes instruction.
If you additionally want to delete all or some of the network volumes connected to this server, follow the instructions. Please note that if network ports are connected to the server, then when deleting the server through console clients, the ports are not deleted, but they are no longer connected to the server.