Projects and Quotas

Projects

A Cloud platform project is a collection of resources (virtual processors, volumes, networks, and others) that are available in multiple regions and zones.

The first project is created automatically when creating a Selectel account and is called My First Project.

Working with the project — creating objects (virtual machines, volumes, networks, and others) in a project, creating other projects and deleting them — is available after topping up the Cloud platform balance.

The user can create up to 20 projects by default. Please create a ticket if you need to increase the number of projects.

Managing Projects

Creating a Project

To create a project, from the Control panel:

  1. Open the Cloud platform section.
  2. Follow these steps depending on the number of projects created:

    • if you don’t have any projects created, click Create project on the start screen;
    • if you have one project created, click on its name and then click Create project in the new window;
    • if you have two or more projects created, click on the name of the current project, select Project management from the list, and then click Create project in the new window.
  3. Enter the project name. It must be unique for each project.

  4. Click Create project.

A newly created project will appear in the list of projects.

Inside the project, you can create virtual machines (cloud servers), volumes, networks, images, load balancers, Kubernetes clusters, databases, cloud functions, manage licenses, users, and quotas.

Renaming a Project

To rename a project, from the Control panel:

  1. Follow these steps depending on the number of projects created:

    • if you have one project created, click on its name;
    • if you have two or more projects created, click on the name of the current project and select Project management from the list.
  2. In the new window, open the (⋮) menu of the required project and click Rename.

Please note that you can also rename the current project in the Settings section. To do this, click the Edit icon in the Basic block, enter a new name and save your changes.

Transferring a Project to Another Account

To transfer a project to another account, please contact technical support.

Deleting a Project

Please note that when deleting a project, all public addresses will be returned to the address pool, and all resources (local volumes, images, networks, servers, and others) will be permanently deleted. Only network volumes can be restored within 14 days after deletion.

To delete a project, from the Control panel:

  1. Follow these steps depending on the number of projects created:

    • if you have one project created, click on its name;
    • if you have two or more projects created, click on the name of the current project and select Project management from the list.
  2. In the new window, open the (⋮) menu of the required project and click Delete.

Please note that you can also delete the current project in the Settings section. To do this, click Delete in the Deleting a project block, enter the project name and save your changes.

Limits and Quotas

Account Limit

Each Cloud platform account has a limit on possible resources. Depending on the availability of resources in the Cloud platform, the limit will be automatically distributed between your projects in the form of quotas. Account limit applies to the region or availability zone depending on the resource type (zonal or regional).

Please note that you can change the account limit for resources by submitting a request to technical support. After increasing the account limit, you need to change the quotas for project resources.

Project Quotas

A quota is a limit of resources that can be used for working within a project. It allows you to set the restrictions and control the consumption of individual projects, teams, or clients.

When creating a project, quotas for resources are distributed automatically depending on the account limit.

Funds for unused quotas are not withdrawn from the balance.

Changing the Quotas

To change (increase or reduce) project quotas, from the Control panel:

  1. Go to the Quotas section in the desired project.
  2. Select the region where you want to change quotas.
  3. Click Edit.
  4. Specify new quota values.
  5. Click Save.

When increasing quotas, the following limits may appear:

  • if the resource is marked with the Limit reached icon, then you have reached the account limit for this resource. To increase the limit, please contact technical support. After increasing the limit, you need to allocate quotas for this resource;
  • if the resource is marked with the Transfer available icon, then the quotas for the resource can be transferred from another project.

Transferring Quotas from Another Project

To transfer quotas from another project, from the Control panel:

  1. Open the project where you want to increase quotas and go to the Quotas section.
  2. Select the region where you want to change quotas.
  3. Click Edit.
  4. If the resource is marked with the Transfer available icon, expand its card and select the project from which you want to transfer free quotas.
  5. Specify the number of quotas for transferring — it will be added to the resource in the current project.
  6. Click Transfer.
  7. Click Save at the top of the page.

User Access Control

The project owner can create users and grant them access to the project. Project users can work with the Openstack API and external panel.

Creating a User

To create a user and configure access to a particular project, from the Control panel:

  1. Go to the Users section.
  2. Click Create user.
  3. A login will appear in the new window. You can change it.
  4. The password for entering the panel and authorizing the API will be generated automatically. You can change it or generate a new one by clicking Generate.
  5. Select one or more projects that you want to give the user access to.
  6. Click Create.

A direct link to the external panel is created for each project. The user who has access to a project can manage project resources in the external panel (while access to the balance, quotas, and other projects is limited).

You can customize the external panel (for example, set the company logo). Learn more in Configuring external panel.

A List of User Projects

For a created user, you can edit the list of projects that they have access to. To do this, from the Control panel:

  1. Go to the Users section.
  2. Expand the required user card and open the Projects tab.
  3. To add a project, select the required one from the list and click Add to project. You can add multiple projects.
  4. To delete a project, click on the Trash icon next to the project name.