Deleting Images

Deleted images cannot be restored.

Deleting Images in the Control panel

Deleting images from the storage

Follow these steps to delete an image and stop billing for the Image storage:

  1. Go to the project where the image was originally placed. Please note that disabling an image received from another project using the shared method will not lead to its physical removal. This can only be done from the source project.
  2. Go to the Images section.
  3. Open the drop-down menu for the image to be deleted and select Delete image.
  4. Enter the image name to confirm the action in the window and click Delete.

The image will be deleted and disconnected from all projects that have shared access to it.

Disabling Image Access

Disabling access to the image in the target project is performed as follows:

  1. Go to the project that was granted access to the image.
  2. Go to the Images section.
  3. Open the (⋮) menu for the image to be disabled and select Disable image.

Image access from the target project will be removed but the image itself will remain available in the Image storage of the source project.

Deleting Images through Console Clients

Activate a list of private images:

openstack image list --private

Delete the image with the command:

openstack image delete <IMAGE>