The local boot volume is deleted together with the server to which it is connected. See more on deleting cloud servers in the article. Network volumes can be deleted together with all volumes connected to the server being deleted, or each volume can be deleted separately.
Please note that when deleting a network volume, its snapshots are also deleted. If you want to save the snapshot, create a volume from snapshot.
Deleting Volumes in the Control Panel
To delete a network volume in the Control panel:
- Detach the volume from the server.
- Go to the Volumes section in the project.
- Expand the (⋮) volume menu and select Delete volume or open the volume card and click Delete under the Control tab.
- Confirm the deletion of snapshots by selecting Delete snapshots of this volume.
Deleting Volumes through CLI
Learn more about getting started with the OpenStack CLI.
Prior to deleting a volume, it must first be detached from the server.
To remove a network volume, run the following:
openstack volume delete <volume>
To delete multiple volumes, run:
openstack volume delete <volume 1> <volume 2> <volume 3>
To delete a volume with snapshots (before deleting a volume, delete snapshots or use the
openstack volume delete --purge <volume>
To delete multiple volumes with snapshots (before deleting volumes, delete snapshots or use the
openstack volume delete --purge <volume 1> <volume 2> <volume 3>